Grand Theft Auto IV: Huge Fan / Discovering My Old Save File (Added to “Currently Playing”)

gta_IV

I have to apologize for ever getting rid of Grand Theft Auto IV. I bought it five years ago, played for five minutes, and never played again… until a few days ago (or weeks, depending on when I schedule this post). I can say these things with more than just speculation, because when I put the game into my Xbox 360, it started from my save old file… from 2010. My play time was just over 5 minutes. What the fuck was I thinking?

Oh yea, this game is way too beautiful and amazing for ME to play? Improved driving mechanics from San Andreas? Psh, who needs THOSE! Great character designs, interesting surroundings, a living environment with events that occur even without my interaction? Nah, I’ll just trade it in, and buy something else.

To be fair, I know I played the game more than 5 minutes. I didn’t save, because there wouldn’t have been any reason to save. The only reason I played Grand Theft Auto games back then was to crash cars and raise hell. Without the obvious jump setups, like in Vice City, the world of GTA IV seemed bland and boring. Boy, was I wrong! Just because the Grand Theft Auto series decided to grow up, does NOT make it a boring game.

I think that I needed a game like Grand Theft Auto V, a game that was undeniably a gift from the video game gods – oh yea, prove that they DON’T exist – to make me appreciate how great a Grand Theft Auto game could be. GTA V, in typical sequel progression, improved upon the formula from the previous game. The bright colors, three protagonists, and blatant mockery of modern-day culture was enough to make me want to put all my other games aside. Where I was once a goofy dumb-ass who didn’t know how to play a Grand Theft Auto game all the way through to save my life, I’m now a goofy dumb-ass who can. BIG DIFFERENCE!

My point is, this time while I was playing GTA IV, I knew what I was doing. When I first started playing the first time, way back in 2010, I was pissed that I had to use the right trigger to accelerate. How stupid was that?! I wasn’t used to it. After playing a few actual racing games after my first GTA IV experience, I learned how much better it is to be able to control the speed of my car! That should have been obvious, but I was more familiar with the X-you go, no X-you DON’T go button setup of the pre-Xbox 360 days. Hell, throw in a square button, and you might even STOP! Could you imagine driving like that in real life? Maybe some of you DO drive like that. Comment below if it’s all or nothing when you’re behind the wheel. Make sure to leave your city and state, and an address for the cops to stake you out, for public safety reasons.

With my genuinely surprised reaction to playing this game after five years, I’m choosing to add THIS game to my list of “Currently Playing.” For anyone who’s trying to keep track, that list now looks like this:

Final Fantasy III

Life is Strange (just 1 episode to go)

Kingdom Hearts

Grand Theft Auto IV

Thanks for playing reading! Remember to follow my blog, and comment below. I always enjoy discussions.

One comment

  1. Particlebit · August 25, 2015

    GTA4 is the only GTA console game I have not purchased or actually played. Perhaps when I finally finish GTA5 I’ll go back and get it for 360.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment