My PERSONAL Top 10 GREATEST Things About Grand Theft Auto V

gta-v-woman

Finishing off my dedicated week to the game Grand Theft Auto V, I want to share the top 10 things I really love about the game. I invite you to share your personal top 10 in the comments below, or leave a link to one of your own posts! Thanks for reading, and I hope you enjoy my list.

10. Movies

You want to go see a movie? Put Grand Theft Auto V into your console, and take a drive to the movie theater. You might get to watch that weird movie that doesn’t make any sense, Capolavoro. Maybe you like dystopian science fiction movies with a robot in the leading role, like The Loneliest Robot in Great Britain. And of course, you have to check out the film Michael helped produce, Meltdown. Each of these movies are about ten minutes long, and are entertaining in their own, unique ways.

9. Golf and tennis

I don’t want to hate on any other game, but Grand Theft Auto V would make buying a golf or tennis game seem pointless for me. I can play them on GTA V, and they’re actually good. The mechanics are easy to understand, there’s fun dialogue, and when I’m finished playing I can steal cars, rob stores, and get back to my general life of crime. I’ve played games that were supposed to be fully devoted to ONLY being a golf game or ONLY a tennis game that don’t live up to the standards set in GTA V.

8. The water

Maybe when I’m done playing sports with one of the other characters, I’ll go for a swim. It’s hard to believe that Rockstar put in the effort to create underwater environments, especially when you consider how big the world above sea level is. I’m glad they decided to do this, because watching the main characters drown because they couldn’t swim was always a disappointing way to die. This is a little off topic, but John Marston and his horses not being able to swim was one of my biggest complaints about Red Dead Redemption, as well as previous GTA games. I understood why it was complicated for developers to incorporate, but it was always disappointing. Now we know that underwater environments are not only possible, but that they can be done well.

7. Radio: Different genres, mock talk shows, adds to realism

The radio has always been a big part of the Grand Theft Auto franchise, at least sense GTA III. I think my favorite track-lists come from Vice City, but the radio in GTA V still has a lot of great music to listen to, as well as talk radio. There are different genres of music for people to listen to, so you should always be able to find something acceptable. Also, the stations change when the player drives in and out of Blaine County, adding another touch of realism. And when the news comes on, sometimes the reporters will be talking about events that have occurred in the game. It’s fun, and it lets players know how the rest of the world is responding to their actions.

6. Satire

This game pokes fun at EVERYTHING. Facebook isn’t safe. Yoga isn’t safe. Even gaming isn’t safe. I love that this game takes place in the modern decade, and from three different perspectives, because it’s great to see the world we live in through other peoples’ eyes. I wonder how our culture might look to someone who’s completely unfamiliar with it. Does it seem as ridiculous as the culture portrayed in GTA V? All the way from the middle-finger mouse pointer depicted in GTA V’s web pages, all the way up to the thrill seeker who rides ATVs out of airplanes just for the rush, Grand Theft Auto V is packed with satire for anyone who might be self-aware enough to realize it. Then again, maybe you’re a batshit crazy as the game says you are.

5. The races

I didn’t buy a racing game, and I wasn’t expecting a racing game. However, I can race cars, jet skis, bicycles, and I can even compete in triathlons. Okay, so maybe mashing the A button for some of these races don’t make the best possible gaming experience, but they’re there if I want them. I don’t usually buy racing games, but I have in the past, and I enjoy a good race every now and then. In GTA V, I can have them if I want them, and they’re based within the world my characters are living in, which adds new depth to the races.

4. The Cars, Trucks, and Bikes.

One thing I noticed when I first started playing Grand Theft Auto V, is that the cars seem to respond better to my controls than in previous Grand Theft Auto games. Each car feels unique, and I had a great time… acquiring vehicles that looked like they’d be fun to drive. Due to my curiosity, I ditched a fast car to try out a pickup truck right before a chase mission. It took several retries, but I eventually caught up with my target. My favorite car is the Dominator, which seems to be influence by the real-world Ford Mustang. I like to ride motorcycles when I want to get somewhere in a hurry and Franklin’s green Bagger is my favorite 2-wheeled ride.

3. All the Other Vehicles

I thought about including Vehicles under one category, but they deserve more than one. Cars, trucks, and bikes only scratch the surface when it comes to the vehicles of Grand Theft Auto V. Players can fly planes, ride boats, helicopters, ATVs, buses, bicycles, a blimp, etc. If you see it moving, you can probably steal it, and tour the city on it! And there are multiple versions of many of these. For example, you aren’t able to just fly a plane; you can fly small bi-planes, private jets, jumbo jets, or fighter jets. There are PLENTY of vehicle options in this game, and I still haven’t tried them all.

2. Three Main Characters

In previous GTA games, we were given a single character to control. One game, one personality. In GTA V, we get THREE main characters, each with their own style and personality. They like different music, prefer different kinds of vehicles, and each of them have their own special talents. Because the story is constantly switching focus from one character to another, players never get stuck playing as the same person.

1. The World

It would almost be impossible not to notice the terrific world that Rockstar developers created. The city of San Andreas is buzzing with activity, and the attention to detail is astounding. If you have any doubts, walk down the sidewalk, instead of driving. You will notice things that are easy to miss when driving. You can leave the city, and travel north to Blaine County, and it actually feels like a different place. The world is huge, but it’s full of landmarks and places that look like they really exist and fit into the context of the world that’s been created. If there’s a single reason to keep playing after finishing the game, it’s to continue exploring the massive world.

One comment

  1. pine717 · August 10, 2015

    I had no idea Michael’s movie was watchable in game. Thanks for sharing that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment